Legato Productions

Elégie: Rachmaninov on Double Bass

Adrian Eriksson

Henrik Kilhamn

Danial Shariati


Release date: 2023-10-07

Total time: 61'

PDF booklet available by download

Swedish double bassist Adrian Eriksson announces his debut album, Elégie: Rachmaninov on Double Bass. Together with pianist Henrik Kilhamn and violinist Danial Shariati, Adrian Eriksson is releasing a collection of transcriptions with music entirely by Rachmaninoff, honoring his 150th anniversary of birth.

Sergei Rachmaninoff was the last romantic composer, himself describing the Romantic music to be timeless as it “reflects the warmth and depth of compassion in human nature“. With the deep and warm sound of the double bass, Adrian Eriksson is creating new magic with Rachmaninoff’s music. Highlights include the famous Vocalise, the slow movement of his gorgous cello sonata and Trio elégiaque No. 1.

1    Elegie  op. 3/1 

2   Prélude in C-Sharp Minor  op. 3/2

3   Prelude in D Major   op. 23/4

4   Romance  op. 6/ 1

5   Zdes’ khorosho  op 21/7

6   Melody  op. 21/9

7   In the Silence of the Night  op. 4/3

9   Lied in F Minor

8   Vocalise  op. 34/ 14

10  Cello Sonata in G minor: III. Andante  op. 19

11   Preghiera (Arr. by Fritz Kreisler from Piano Concerto No.2, Op. 18)

12  Trio Elegiaque No. 1 in G minor